IACP Announces 2017 Award Winners : New Worlder

On March 4, at the 39th Annual Conference in Louisville, Kentucky, The International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) announced their award recipients for 2017.

The IACP organization was first founded by epicureans Julia Child, Jacques Pépin, and Anne Willan as a way to connect industry professionals for networking, camaraderie, and mutual support. For more than three decades, awards have been bestowed in numerous categories that include Cookbooks, Digital Media, Food Photography & Styling, and Food Writing, as a way to “recognize original creative work conducted by leaders in the global culinary field.”

This year’s awards were co-hosted by celebrity chef Carla Hall and Joe Yonan, The Washington Post’s Food and Dining Editor at the Louisville Palace Theater. Here are some of the award highlights:

Chef, cookbook author and TV personality Vivian Howard won in multiple cookbook categories, including Cookbook of the Year, for Deep Run Roots: Stories and Recipes from My Corner of the South. Cookbook author Molly Yeh of Molly on the Range: Recipe and Stories from An Unlikely Life on a Farm took home the Judge’s Choice award, and Taste of Persia: A Cook’s Travels Through Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Iran, and Kurdistan won for the Culinary Travel Cookbook category.

Lucky Peach earned Best Culinary Website while Epicurious took home Best Culinary Group Blog. 

Publication of the Year, Best Food-Focused Column (“From Grandmother’s House to Hers; Shamelessly French; Korean Comfort Food; Casa Calamari” by Francis Lam), Best Beverage-Focused Column (“The Pour” by Eric Asimov), and Narrative Beverage Writing With or Without Recipes (“Jack Daniel’s Faces Its Past: Help From a Slave Distiller” by Clay Risen) were all awarded to The New York Times.

Lastly, Chef José Andrés received the prestigious IACP Lifetime Achievement Award, an honor that “recognizes a culinary professional who has made noteworthy and lasting contributions to the culinary industry and who has demonstrated a continuing commitment to the culinary arts as a lifetime career.”

For a complete list of award winners, visit the IACP site hereThe 40th annual IACP conference will take place next year in New York City February 23 – 25, 2018.